Griffin Hospital was a healthcare industry pioneer in using market research techniques used by other industries including focus groups, patient surveys and consumer/community surveys. Griffin conducted its first community survey in 1982 to measure community perception of Griffin Hospital and the services it provided. The hospital repeated the survey regularly and over the past decade has done the survey about every two years.

The hospital uses an independent, private market research company to conduct telephone survey of over 360 Valley (Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Derby, Seymour, Shelton and Oxford) residents and 360 residents from eight towns surrounding the Valley. The most recent survey was completed in November 2008. The survey results are used to guide service improvements and service and program development. The survey compares hospitals in Bridgeport, New Haven and Waterbury as well as Milford and Griffin Hospital.

In surveys since 1998, community residents rate Griffin Hospital the hospital of choice for many residents, the most improved hospital in the region with the highest quality of care after Yale-New Haven Hospital. In response to a question asking people to compare their most recent hospital stay to a previous stay, Griffin was the only hospital where the majority of respondents said their last stay was better than their previous stay. Good previous experience is the top reason for selection of Griffin by Valley residents, followed by location, good doctors, good nursing staff and reputation for quality of care.

Those surveyed say they choose emergency rooms because of good doctors, good care, insurance coverage and friendly staff. Nearly 7 out of 10 (69%) named Griffin Hospital's Emergency Room as their first choice of hospitals in the region.

Almost one-third (32%) of Valley residents have heard about the Planetree Model of Care and almost all of them (90%) were able to identify Griffin Hospital as the hospital providing Planetree care. Survey results include surveys in 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2008.