Information about the Coronavirus

Griffin Health is committed to your care and safety. Please call your doctor or provider before your visit. General COVID-19 information is available here. Vaccination information is available here.

Schedule your COVID-19 test at 203-437-6815.

Media Contact: Christian Meagher, Communications Specialist

Griffin Celebrates Its Nurses

By Christian Meagher on 6/15/2022

Griffin Hospital recently held its 34th Annual Nurses Week Celebration to honor its more than 350 staff nurses. The Nursing Department staff members were treated to refreshments, gifts, raffles and award presentations to nurses who provided exceptional care during the year.

“The country is celebrating National Nurses Week at a time when the sacrifices and efforts of our healthcare workers have been unprecedented,” said Griffin Hospital Vice President of Patient Care Kimberlee Richard. “Our Nursing staff have exhibited a passion, grace and humility which inspires our leadership team. We are proud to serve and work side-by-side with them every day!”

Yangchen Dhondup, RN, a nurse in the Griffin Hospital Emergency Department, received the 2022 Outstanding Nurse of the Year Award.

A caregiver at Griffin since 2001, Dhondup started as a Multi-Skilled Technician and advanced her career to earn her LPN and RN degrees. Throughout the surges in COVID-19 infections, she was an inspiration and source of comfort for her fellow caregivers in the Griffin Hospital Emergency Department.

“Yang battled all the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic while giving 100%, demonstrating true selflessness and compassion for everyone she encounters,” Richard said. “She remained a positive influence for her team, cooked food to lift their spirits, kept a smile on her face even on the hardest days, and treated each patient with dignity, respect, and compassion through it all. She is a true hero in the Emergency Department because her spirit of serving the Griffin team and the Griffin community has never changed.”

In addition, Blerina Petitti, RN, received the Mary Schumacher Nursing Leadership Award; Stephanie Velez, RN, and Elsa Zewdu, RN, received the Mary Nelligan Continuing Education Award; Caitlin Gaetani, RN, received the Shirley Yale Nursing Scholarship Award; Jessica Schepp, RN, received the Marie Santini Perioperative Nursing Excellence Award; and Petitti, Karleen Guluzzy, RN, and Sheetal Sharma, RN, won the Donald Torok Memorial Scholarship Award.

Event News